Sharon Ledwith’s Mysterious Tales from Fairy Falls

In honour of her upcoming new release, the first in the Mysterious Tales from Fairy Falls Teen Psychic Series, I interviewed the author, Sharon Ledwith, so she could tell us all what to expect in Lost and Found.ADSharonLedwith copy.jpg

So your upcoming novel, Lost and Found is part of a new series, is that correct? What’s this new series about?

Yes, it sure is, and I’m so excited about connecting with new readers! The name of the series is called Mysterious Tales from Fairy Falls, and is set in a small, nostalgic cottage country community in Canada. Written for a young adult audience, each book is a stand-alone project with a different cast of characters. The five book series deals with teenagers possessing a unique psychic ability who are suddenly uprooted from their familiar surroundings, and forced to live in Fairy Falls where nothing much ever happens. It’s bores-ville from the get-go, and now these teens have to deal with trying to live a (para)normal life!

Psychic Teens, that’s cool. So Lost and Found is the first one planned. What’s this book about? 

In Lost and Found we find the Fairy Falls Animal Shelter in trouble. Money trouble. It’s up to an old calico cat named Whiskey—a shelter cat who has mastered the skill of observation—to find a new human pack leader so that their home will be saved. With the help of Nobel, the leader of the shelter dogs, the animals set out to use the ancient skill of telepathy to contact any human who bothers to listen to them. Unfortunately for fifteen-year-old Meagan Walsh, she hears them, loud and clear…

I know you’re a planner, so what other psychic powers are you planning on exploring with this series? 

Yes, you could call me an architect where I plan, map, and flesh out as much of a series as possible on a ‘Master Plan’ document. First, I set up the premise and a strategic ten year plan for a series, and then give a title and mini synopsis for each book I intend to write. This really helps me with the development of a book series, and allows me to actually ‘see’ each book in my mind.

In the first book, Lost and Found, the protagonist, Meagan Walsh has the ability to communicate with animals. In the second book, Blackflies and Blueberries, seventeen-year-old Hart Stewart is a psychometrist, and has the uncanny ability to discover facts about an event or person by touching inanimate objects associated with them. In the third book, I deal with a teen boy who has psychokinetic powers—the influence of mind over matter through invisible means, such as moving objects or bending metal. The fourth book introduces a sixteen-year-old girl who finds out that she’s descended from an elite sect of Druids, and possesses the power to manipulate nature. And finally, the fifth book has an adolescent girl who is a blood charmer—the ability to stop the flow of blood when a person is bleeding without ever touching them.

In Lost and Found, you write from the perspective of Meagan, a teen trying to fit in to a calico.jpgsmall town, but you also write from the perspective of Whiskey, a calico cat, how was that experience?

I absolutely loved it! Lost and Found is near and dear to my heart and a true labour of love, since I wrote this novel after my experience with working at a local animal shelter as an animal care attendant. Every dog and cat featured in in this story is based on an animal which I cared for or handled in some capacity. This is a novel that truly speaks for the animals! While working at the shelter, I found myself wondering what the animals would say? How would they act? How would they sound? What did they really think of humans? So, chasing down the animal voices frolicking in my head, I wrote their story. Lost and Found is the culmination of that fruitful experience.

So now that Lost and Found is coming out and you’re three books into The Last Timekeepers series, what’s next for you? Are you currently working on anything?

With the pressure of juggling two book series now, I’ve already planned and started Book #3 in The Last Timekeepers young adult time travel adventure series. The Last Timekeepers and the Noble Slave, features Drake Bailey as the point-of-view character this time around, and as usual, my poor characters are being dragged through hell and high water during this particular Timekeeper mission which takes place in antebellum Georgia just before the American Civil War.

Once I’ve finished and submitted The Last Timekeepers and the Noble Slave for publication, it’s on to revising Blackflies & Blueberries, book #2 in Mysterious Tales from Fairy Falls series. In this story, we meet Hart Stewart, a teen possessed with the gift (or is it a curse?) of psychometry—the ability to discover facts about an event or person simply by touching inanimate objects associated with them. After his mother’s senseless murder, Hart endures homelessness and hunger while trying to hide his secret of being illiterate. Then, through contact with his social worker, Hart learns of a great aunt living in a small community up north. Packing up his worldly possessions, Hart decides to escape from the harsh city life he has known…

Welcome to Fairy Falls. Expect the unexpected!

Sharon Ledwith and pets #3Sharon Ledwith is the author of the middle-grade/young adult time travel series, THE LAST TIMEKEEPERS, and the teen psychic mystery series, MYSTERIOUS TALES FROM FAIRY FALLS. When not writing, researching, or revising, she enjoys reading, exercising, anything arcane, and an occasional dram of scotch. Sharon lives a serene, yet busy life in a southern tourist region of Ontario, Canada, with her hubby, one spoiled yellow Labrador and a moody calico cat.

Learn more about Sharon Ledwith on her WEBSITE and BLOG. Look up her AMAZON AUTHOR page for a list of current books. Stay connected on FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOOGLE+, and GOODREADS. Check out THE LAST TIMEKEEPERS TIME TRAVEL SERIES Facebook page.

BONUS: Download the free PDF short story The Terrible, Mighty Crystal HERE

3 thoughts on “Sharon Ledwith’s Mysterious Tales from Fairy Falls

Add yours

  1. Your new series sounds wonderful, Sharon! Can’t wait to read about the animals plight. So in book 2, Hart is a psychometrist? Hmm, sounds like the same gift Nana has in my series. Cool.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Rita! Seems like we’re always on the same page when it comes to our books! LOL! Love Nana! Cheers and thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: