Meet Elizabeth from Mirror’s Hope!

Instead of talking to the main character, I’ve decided to do something a little different with our character interview for this month’s featured book. Meet Elizabeth Calanais, Mirena Calanais’ quirky and at times caustic twin sister from Mirror’s Hope.

MHfeaTURE2

Hello, Elizabeth. Thanks for joining us! Why don’t you start by telling us a little bit about yourself?

What’s to tell? You know as well as I do that you’re here to ask me about Mirena and her boy toy, ‘Hope.’ I still can’t believe she calls him that. It’s degrading, really.

 

Well, yes, I suppose that’s true, but surely you’ve got your part to play in the story, right?

Well, I don’t want to sound immodest or anything… Aw, hell, who am I kidding? Of course Mirror’s Hope is all about me! I mean just look at the title, it’s dripping symbolism. Mirror is clearly a reference for twin and I’m Mira’s twin…

No, in all seriousness, the story is all about Mira and Hope. Get it, ‘Mirror’s Hope.’ I mean, it’s pretty self-explanatory.

 

Ok… well, why don’t you tell us about your sister then? What’s Mirena like?

Gee, well, let’s see… She’s tall, thin and gorgeous with long blonde hair. She basically looks just like me. Personality-wise, however, she’s my exact opposite. Sometimes she’s just so sickeningly sweet it makes me want to gag, you know?

 

Sure, I’ll bet she makes your life really difficult… How about Hope, I mean Tendro. What do you think of him?

He’s obviously got the hots for Mira. Wait, does that mean he’s got the hots for me too? Ugh, gross! I mean, it’s not that Tendro’s not good-looking or anything. He is, but he’s also just so… I dunno, sweet? Yeah, sweet. He’s just like Mirena, they fit well together. They’re both always like ‘Oh, I want to change the world and make everything better for everyone!’ What’s wrong with the way things are now? That’s what I want to know.

 

I thought you lived in a dystopia? Isn’t that where the society is corrupt and ruled by an oppressive government?

Well when you put it that way! Sure, ‘society’  and ‘the government’ has its flaws and Terrence Lee is a pretty awful piece of work, but it’s the way things are! You gotta learn to survive in the world you’re born into. You don’t get to just bend and change it to your whims! Well, maybe if you’re the Avatar of the Light you do. I dunno, you’d have to ask ‘Hopey’ about that one.

 

Okay, well thanks Elizabeth. You’ve been very… ah.. informative.

Sure thing! It’s always a pleasure to ‘educate the masses’. Next time you’re looking for someone to tell you like it is, you know who to come to!

MH1Descwide copy.jpg

And that’s Elizabeth Calanais from Mirror’s Hope by Justine Alley Dowsett and Murandy Damodred. Mirror’s Hope is not your typical fantasy or romance story. It’s dark and funny and at times, epic. You can learn more about this book and its sequel, Mirror’s Heart, in our bookstore. And right now, until the end of the month, you can get Mirror’s Hope at a discount with the check out code: FEATURE

You can also enter to win our goodreads giveaway here: https://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/165723-mirror-s-hope

FEATUREJAN copy

To keep up with our monthly features and sales, please subscribe to this blog! And, if you have anymore questions for Elizabeth, make sure to add them in the comments below and I’ll make sure she gets back to you!  

3 comments

Leave a Reply

