A little taste of what I’ve been working on…

As you may or may not know, I’m kind of a workaholic. When it comes to books and my writing, I tend to take on maybe a little more than is reasonable. This time, I feel that I’ve outdone myself in that regard. Besides the usual tasks of running Mirror World Publishing and getting Mirror’s Heart, the sequel to our best-selling fantasy romance, Mirror’s Hope, ready for publication, I’ve also started working on several other projects.

First up, I’m the Artistic Director for the Crosstown Players. We’re a local theatre troupe in Windsor, Ontario dedicated to social equality. (You can learn more about us here: http://www.crosstownplayers.ca) Over the summer we were awarded a grant from the City of Windsor to put on an innovative production of our historical comedy “Fort Frostbite; Bringing 1812 to 2015” and we’ll be doing that at the Mackenzie Hall in Sandwich Towne January 23, 24 and 25th.

Secondly, I’ve been working on a new stand-alone novel with Murandy Damodred as we take a break from our Mirror World series. The working title is ‘Unintended’ and it’s a comedy-style romantic fantasy featuring four characters whose love lives get intertwined and tangled in the most unintentional of ways. I’m really liking how this one is turning out so far and I am excited to see what our BETA readers will think of it when it is finished.

Thirdly, I was struck with inspiration and felt the need to start hammering out a totally different kind of science-fiction novel. It’s unlike my usual writing style in that it’s very fast-paced with lots of action and is set in the real world (mostly) and in present day. I’m not sure what form it will end up taking when I am finished, but I am enjoying the process so far.

Oh, one more thing. I typed this up this morning just to get it out. Its not related to any of the above projects, but who knows, maybe it will turn into one of its own 😉

Growing up, I wasn’t the kind of girl who wanted a pony, I was holding out for a full-sized stallion. Maybe it was because I was an only child, or because my mother had died when I was young, so she wasn’t around to stop him, but eventually I wore my father down and I got one.

I named him Dashar after the horse of the immortal hero Seylonn in the legends of the Once and Future King. That book, over three inches thick and with its pages edged in gold, had been my mother’s prized possession when she still lived and it was the only thing she had passed on to me other than my looks.

My skin is flawless, or near enough, and my face a perfect oval, or so I’ve been told. I have my father’s hazel eyes and my mother’s long and straight golden hair; the colour of wheat in the summertime. People often praise my beauty, but for me, it’s the thing I like least about myself. If I had been born ugly, I’m certain that I would be told less often to sit like a lady, dress like a lady and act like a lady. Because, truthfully, a lady, is about the last thing I want to be.

Then there are the boys. In case the opinions of the maids, the female relatives, and my father’s occasional female companions aren’t enough, I also have to put up with males of all ages staring at me, fawning over me, and generally only wanting to spend time with me in order to obtain my ‘elusive affections’. I don’t know why they can’t see me as I am, instead of as an object for them to admire, or worse, want to possess.

My appearance is more than just a bother to me; it seems as if it is the one thing that other people want to build my life and identity around.

Well, my name is Tobren Ballentyne and I am nineteen years old. I can swim, hunt, ride and run nearly as fast as my horse…

And I say otherwise.

Leave a Reply

