Never Give Up, Never Surrender and…

 

Never

I attended a networking luncheon yesterday and this was the main message of the guest speaker. His words really struck a chord with me because they’re kind of along the lines I’ve been pondering lately and it seemed at the moment that he spoke them that they were something I really needed to hear.
It’s true that I’ve had a lot of setbacks and difficulties since I decided (long ago, at the age of about 6) that I wanted to be an author. It’s not an easy career path and it certainly is not lucrative…
An example of this; I was talking to my hairdresser yesterday and she said her 10 year old daughter recently announced that she wants to be an author when she grows up. The hairdresser’s response to this is “Well, honey, you can do that, but you’ll have to do something else first. You can’t JUST be an author. You have to have a job that makes money and THEN you can write.”
The terrible part about this is that she is 100% right. And really, the way I see it, it shouldn’t be that way. Writing is hard work. It takes time and effort and a lot of practice and talent to be really good at it. Why shouldn’t we be able to make a career out of it just like we can make a career out of almost any other skill?
Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that I’ve always wanted to be successful in the book publishing industry and I’ve worked really hard to even get as far as I have, but it’s been a constant uphill struggle against overwhelming odds. There are certainly days where I want to throw in the towel and say, ‘I’m done! I’m going to get a real job now! One that compensates me for the work I do!’
But then I remember my dream and I don’t give up and I don’t surrender. Because every step forward is just that… a step forward. And really, isn’t that what success is all about?

Today’s update:

Welcome to the new wordpress Blog for Mirror World Publishing. I felt it was time for the old blog on the website to get a facelift! So from this point forward blog posts will be found here and shared on our facebook page. There’s a handy set of links above so you can find your way back as well.
I look forward to bringing you more content and more books! Please subscribe by clicking ‘follow’ to get our email notifications.
Thank you!

Leave a Reply

